First Swimming Lesson Handout – Breaststroke

I am giving private swimming lessons this fall and wanted to provide my students with reference sheets for them to take home and review to reinforce what we covered in class that day. I found some coaching tips and instructional videos on-line, but didn’t find anything that was written for an adult that is new to swimming, so I am writing my own.

My first swim lesson handout covers one of the most popular recreational strokes: The Breaststroke. I started with the breaststroke because of it’s popularity and because I think it is one of the least complicated strokes. In the breaststroke the arms and legs are doing similar activities simultaneously. Hands and feet together during the glide. Hands and feet out to the sides during the power portion of the stroke followed by hands and feet coming back together during the power portion of the kick. Since I am not much of an artist, I borrowed some wonderful illustrations from  the 1992 edition of the American Red Cross Swimming and Diving manual. You can see the results in the link below.

Breaststroke instructions

I also found this helpful video instruction on you tube.

Leave a Reply

