Baby T-shirt with vest and tie and diaper cover

Diaper Cover

I found some time this week to make the diaper cover to go with the hipster baby t-shirt with faux vest and tie.

The pattern and TUTORIAL: the perfect DIAPER COVER by DANA from JULY 6, 2008 were found on pinterest.com. I am continually amazed at how many great ideas and directions can be found by surfing there.

As you may recall from my post last month,  I went to one of my two favorite resale stores – American Thrift Store in Bessemer, and found a pair of pants to use for the vest fabric. Turns out the pant legs had enough fabric so I could make a diaper cover to match the vest.

The tutorial instruction to “Serge off your seams” at the waist and leg openings. I don’t have a serger and didn’t like the way the fabric was laying when I folded it under, so I used some left over seam tape to finish the leg opening and waist. I didn’t have enough black to do the waist so, it is white and the leg openings are black, but once it’s on the baby no-one will know I used different colors because it’s all on the inside.

Diaper Cover

Diaper Cover

This is a very simple afternoon project – I hope I can make some more this summer.

Now the most difficult part, which baby boy gets this set?

Leave a Reply

