Embroidery / Cross-stitch tip of the day

It’s been a very productive week. I went to the library and picked up a couple Cross stitch books. I planned to look through them for ideas for additional projects. Last night I went through “555 Little Sayings in Cross-Stitch” by Marie Barber.

555_Little_sayings_in_Cross_Stitch

Published by Sterling Publishing Co., Inc. – Copyright 2000


I found a sun design I may want to do.

I like this Sun/Cloud combination

I like this Sun/Cloud combination

The book  has 555 cross-stitch sayings with color keys identifying what threads to use to create the designs, but does not give directions on completing the projects. Fortunately, I do have a background in sewing and believe I can figure out how to make some of the cute creations.

Heart Shaped pillow signs

Heart shaped door knob pillow hangers.

She did include 2 pages of General Instructions at the back of the book. The instructions cover what type of fabric to use, number of strands, finished design size (there is math involved!), preparing the fabric, needles for cross-stitch, floss, centering design, securing floss, carrying floss, and cleaning finished design.

I did learn something very helpful from the General Instructions. As you may know, embroidery floss usually comes in six strands. Most projects require 1, 2, or 3 strands in 15 to 18 inch lengths. When you separate the number of strands you need from the original bundle, the strands tend to twist rather then staying straight. Marie suggested that when you separate the strands you dampen them with a wet sponge, then recombine the number of strands required for the project. I didn’t have a sponge so I used a damp scrap of tee-shirt fabric; it worked very well. My threads did not twist together as much.

As for my current Noah’s Ark stamped cross-stitch project, on Saturday (2-28-2015) I started the giraffes. Check back Monday for photos and an up-date on the quilt project.

Leave a Reply

