I have to burn how many calories?

According to the Diet and Fitness section of Your Total Health  “To lose one pound of fat you have to burn 3,500 more calories than you consume. For example, if you burned 500 more calories per day than you ate, in seven days you would have burned enough extra fat to lose one pound. For the best results, that 500-calorie daily deficit should be split between exercise and food: burn about 250 calories during your workout and eat about 250 calories less than you usually do.”

Now that I am tracking my exercise and my fuel (food) intake I think I have a better chance at moving the numbers on the scale in the downward direction. While it’s tempting to aim for a deficit that is higher than 500, I believe that would be counter productive. That said, if I lose a pound a week I will be at my target weight for New Years Eve!

Latest stats:

2009 Calories Total Exercise Total Weight
19-Aug 1925 1990 151.8
20-Aug 1836 2120 151.8
21-Aug 1626 1691 152.8
22-Aug 1575 1804 151.8
23-Aug 2000 1815 150

As it has become increasingly apparent that I am incapable of writing daily, I’m going to try doing summaries every few days.

Now I must bike to the store and buy some “Shock” for the pool. I will want to exercise in it latter today.

Leave a Reply

