How did I get here or Did unemployment make me fat?

You may be wondering why I decided to start this blog. Well, I went shopping with my Mom last month and we each bought a new pair of dress shorts – her pair is a size 10, mine is a 12. I find that simply unacceptable. When I was in high school Mom and I wore the same size tops and occasionally shared sweaters, but never bottoms. She had hips, I didn’t. Thirty years later she still has hips and I still don’t . . . but I have a big belly that causes me to wear a larger size than her, and gives me a very pear shaped figure that I find disturbing. I must change this situation. I’m hoping that writing about it will help. I suppose I could keep my writing private, but I’m hoping that by making my struggles public I will feel compelled to stay on track.

So, what happened that caused me to reach 153.6 pounds? How did I get from the mid 130’s to the low 150’s? How did I get from just able to squeeze into a size 8, to fitting snug in a 12?

Believe it or not, I write my weight down most mornings. I think I started writing it down as a reminder to stop eating if it started going up too fast; obviously that didn’t work cause I went from 142 on December 21, 2008 to 146 on March 23, 2009 and on up to 154 on June 30, 2009. Here are some of the entries:

  • New Scale January 14, 2006 = 137.8
  • Stayed in the mid to low 130’s through 2006
  • In January 2007 I was around 135
  • Upper 130’s from May 2007 to November 2007 then 140  to 143 though the end of the year
  • In January 2008 I was around 145 – drifted between 140 and 145 all of 2008
  • January 2, 2009 = 145
  • January 15 2009, I found out I was being laid off I didn’t happen to record my weight that day
  • Feb 24, 2009 (No longer employed) 146, up to 148 by the end of March
  • April 2009 to May 26 I went from 146 to 150
  • Highest recorded value 153.6 on August 3 (the first chance I had to weigh after 3 weeks of vacation)

Now I realize I’m getting older, and metabolisms slow with age, but I also know people in their 60’s that weight the same as they did at 30, so I know I don’t HAVE to gain a couple pounds a year.

So what did happened in 2007? I started working from home 3 or 4 days a week.  In January 2008 we moved from Wisconsin to Arizona and I worked full time from an office in my home.

I loved working from a home office. I didn’t have the stressful commute to work in the morning. I just got up, walked to the den, turned on the computer, went to the kitchen and made a pot of coffee, and then I spent the next 6 hours staring at a computer screen. After 6 hours I’d take a little break and eat something, in the winter I might take my dogs for a walk, in the summer I might take a dip in the pool, but I didn’t always do something to burn calories. Then I was back to the computer for another couple of hours. There are a lot of benefits working at home: no “work wardrobe” required, gas and car maintenance expenses decrease, I did the laundry and some house cleaning while on conference calls which left me more time for non-work activities. The down side is I didn’t get much social interaction. I didn’t get the exercise associated with commuting (walking from home to car, car to building and in my case the three flights of stairs to my desk). I also went from wearing nicely fitted cloths to wearing very loose fitting cloths. When I put on an extra pound or two I notice it in nicely fitted cloths but I don’t notice it in sweatpants.

So here’s how I got here: I started working at home; therefore burning less calories and probably consuming more. THEN, I was laid off resulting in even less exercise and more eating and more drinking (specifically beer drinking). So, I’m hoping that if I increase the amount of exercise in my life and decrease the amount of beer I will be able to get back to 135 (aka my working at an office weight).

I sure wish I could find a job. If I had a place to go to every day and nicely fitting cloths to wear I might loss weight faster than I will sitting around the house, staring at the computer looking for work and typing in my blog.

Leave a Reply

